Reset TP-Link Router to Factory Default

How to Reset TP-Link Router to Factory Default?

A lot of people are not aware of the importance of resetting the TP-Link router to factory default. Resetting your router to factory default can solve many problems that you might be facing with your modem or any other device connected to it. It’s also important because if you don’t do this, others might be able to access these devices and may misuse them for their personal needs, such as emails, pictures, etc.

How to Reset TP-Link Router to Factory Default?

This article will guide you through the process in detail so that there is no confusion about what steps need to be followed when resetting the TP-Link router back to its original state. 

Step 1: First thing you need to do is disconnect the power cable from the modem and wait for around a minute.

Step 2: You need to insert the power cable back in and turn on your modem. A white light will glow, indicating that it is usually working. This completes Step 1 of resetting the TP-Link router to factory default settings. Now move on with your internet connections as normal.

Step 3: Now, you need to log in to the router’s admin panel, which can be found on tplinklogin.net.( http://192.168.0.1 ). Type in your username and password as they were set by default during the first time installing the router.

Step 4: Once logged in, proceed to the “Advanced Settings” option located present under the “WAN” section and then click on it once again till it takes you further down to a new page where the WAN connection type is displayed as PPPOE (or Dynamic IP). Select the PPTP VPN option from the drop-down list and press to apply button soon after that. This will configure your internet settings back into a factory state but not change your username and password.

Step 5: Go to the “Restore Factory Default” section below the WAN settings page, where a blue button named “Factory reset” is displayed. You need to click on that particular link to proceed further with the resetting process. Suppose you are logged into the router via the Firefox browser. In that case, you might be asked for confirmation to continue with the process by an authorization window which will require you to re-enter your admin credentials again.

Step 6: On the Reset Factory Default page, set login details that were installed by default during the first time installation of TP-Link router (default name – admin, default password – admin ) and hit the restore option at the bottom left corner of the page after you enter the details. A message will pop up once the factory reset is complete and you are ready to go with your internet connections and use of devices that were connected before resetting took place.

After this process, your router is back to its original state, which might not appeal to some people who want to do further configurations on their routers. These steps should serve best as a guide if you want to get back to factory settings in case of any circumstances. 

Similar Posts